HVP body art barn

This week I took a break from the kid stuff to focus on having some fun for myself. I grabbed a crew of my mom friends and hit the silks at a local Aerial Yoga class at The Body Art Barn in Blooming Grove, NY. We chose this adventure to celebrate a belated Galentine’s Day (traditionally celebrated on February 13th). What better way to celebrate friendship than cheering each other on through aerial feats?

We drove about an hour to our class and not one of us knew what to expect. A dear friend of mine is the instructor. I was excited to finally get the chance to participate. The class description on the website said all levels are welcome and “One does not need any experience in yoga, acrobatics or aerial dance to reap the benefits of this class.” However, we did find you do need a tiny bit of upper body strength. Thankfully, the instructors in the class are ready to help you through any pose you have difficulty with.

Entering the barn with its sensuous smell of oils and the warm, vibrant colors immediately puts me in a zen mood. When I signed us all up for this event I had zero reservations about it. That is until we arrived and I took off my shoes to stand in front of my yoga hammock (or silk). It was in that moment I questioned my own sanity and ability to do this. Note the look of panic on my face:

The Whatever Mom (10)

It was too late to turn back now, so I had to buck up and get through the class as best I could. At one point I did get stuck upside down and was the only one swinging out of control. I was instructed how to slow down and get myself out of the fabric. It was kind of cool to feel like I was flying for a bit. I will add that I got myself out with a small amount of gracefulness.

This is not your typical yoga class. No one is quiet, there is a lot of chatting as you get into the poses. As a first timer I was thankful no one else in the class was paying attention to me. We were all too busy trying to stay upright in the silks and over thinking our next steps. This was definitely outside of my comfort zone. But, that was the fun part! Challenging myself to do something new! My day as a mom can feel mundane and routine. It was exciting to do something well outside of my “usual.”

The Whatever Mom (11)

My favorite part of the whole class was at the very end (not because it was over). We opened up the hammocks to lie down inside. The lights were off and we could hear the Beatles “Let It Be” playing. It was time to relax in our little cocoon suspended in the air. It was really relaxing to snuggle into the fabric and just breathe. When class was over I felt energized and comfortably stretched.

The Whatever Mom (8)

I worried my friends would think I was out of my mind for making them take this class. But, we all agree we would take another class in a heartbeat! Not only were our instructors awesome, but the class was not nearly as challenging as we first thought. It was definitely scary in the beginning because it was so new. But, by the end of the class we felt accomplished! If this group of moms can survive this class, so can you!

The Whatever Mom (9)

This one hour and 15 minute class is only $20 to drop in and try it out for yourself. You can register for a class online through The Body Art Barn website. This class was super fun, but I would love to go back with a group again for a Henna and Yoga party. For $30 per person you get an hour on the silks and henna tattoos by Michelle and Debra dubbed “The Henna Chicks.” You can find more info on the website or find them on Facebook.  If you have a kid interested in learning to flip and fly check out the Circus Camp being offered during Spring break! You won’t regret any classes here!

The Whatever Mom is a full-time wife and twin mama living on coffee and wine. She enjoys the pure rush of cleaning the BIG potty between loads of laundry. It is her dream that moms everywhere accept and embrace the Whatever Mom philosophy which can be found here.

