Today I registered my twins for Kindergarten. It was easier than I thought, especially when I saw their excitement. I think I was mostly nervous about how they would respond. I imagined them kicking and screaming that they wouldn’t want to go. Thankfully, no protest and they charmed everyone with their smiles and enthusiasm. After all the paper work was signed and handed over we went home for a snack.

It was such a beautiful day outside that I couldn’t bear the thought of staying inside for the rest of the day. So, we ate our lunch on our deck and played on the swings. My daughters began creating letters with sticks and acorns and pieces of nature they found. We spelled out our names and it was really cool to see them get so excited about it. Great way to practice our spelling!

March 2015 001

Both girls have expressed an interest in learning to use my camera lately. I just have a simple point and shoot, nothing fancy. But, it’s enough to pique their interest. So, I pulled out my ancient digital ELF camera for them to use. It still uses the same SD card as my current camera, but if they dropped the old one I wasn’t going to freak out.

Surprisingly, my girls had interest in taking pics of tree bark and grass to compare the textures and colors. They both enjoyed taking their own pictures of the art work they created. They moved the sticks around to make different shapes and designs before snapping another pic. It was fun to watch them just enjoy this process.

March 2015 005

So, what does this have to do with registering for Kindergarten? Well, I started to remember all the fun we’ve had in the back yard the last five years. From the first time I put them in their baby swings, to watching them kick a ball and running through play dates, to today; where they are now emulating me and my love of taking pictures.

We have spent a lot of time in this back yard creating art and sharing it with all of you. It has been such a wonderful time for us. So, here is a look back at some of our outdoor art experiences.

Acorn Jewels:

Finished jewels. Display among other gems, or alone in a basket, on a tray.

Materials:

  • Acorn tops (must be dry, clean and free from cracks)
  • Markers
  • Elmer’s Glue
  • Gems, or stones
  • Tray

Start with a layer of rocks, or gems on your tray. These will secure acorn tops in place. Next, color the inside of the tops with a marker. It will look rough, but that’s OK! 

Color in the acorn caps with favorite color markers. Then pour Elmer’s school glue into each top and fill to the rim. Leave over night to dry and you won’t believe the effect!

Backyard Pirate Adventure:

Final maps

Connecting Art With Nature: Drawing outside.

Kids using pastels

Creating an Outdoor Mud Kitchen

Mud kitchen 003

The mud kitchen has to be our favorite. My kids have routed around in that box of dirt since they were able to walk and reach over the side. I wanted to make this a planter box to enjoy some colorful perennials, or maybe some veggies. But, they love to dig in the dirt.

Thanks for taking this trip down memory lane with me. I hope I’ve inspired you to get outside and get creative! Spring is almost here bringing plenty of days to make some warm sunny art.

The Whatever Mom is a full-time wife and twin mama living on coffee and wine. She enjoys the pure rush of cleaning the BIG potty between loads of laundry. It is her dream that moms everywhere accept and embrace the Whatever Mom philosophy which can be found here.

 

