Easter was never about over the top gifts and decorations when I was a kid. My mom always made it personal and special. From the individual loaves of Italian Easter Bread to the carefully assembled family Easter basket, we all knew she put some time and effort into our holiday. It was very different than the average $146 per person parents spend today!

For us, it is easy to dismiss the grand gifts and excessive candy stash. We do celebrate the religious aspect of the holiday, but we also like to celebrate the coming of spring. Our Easter baskets usually reflect the season and what my kids currently need like raincoats and boots. Little kids tend to grow out of things quickly, so Easter is a good time to buy the things my kids currently need and fill in their Easter baskets.

I saw this posted on Facebook several times in the last month and I am inspired to recreate this with things my kids can actually use! It happens to be perfect timing as my girls have been asking for their OWN umbrellas (at least 3 times a day each time it rains).umbrella basket

Here is what we are adding in our umbrella baskets this year:

Books: You can select any book your child will enjoy. In the past I’ve purchase books at the dollar store. My kids LOVE books on CD! I hosted a Barefoot Books party a few months ago and was able to snag some beautiful books with CD for a steal! Books my kids love at a price I live? Win-win!

barefoot prince

Bathing Suits: With summer right around the corner it is the perfect time to buy new ones to have on hand the moment the pool is ready!

bathing suit

Flip Flops: My kids would go barefoot all day every day if I let them. But, they will compromise and wear flip flop sandals. I hit a lucky clearance sale and picked up a new pair for each of them at $2.00 a pair. I’m talking bedazzled and sparkly just the way they like them!

flip flop

Sunscreen: I’m already going to shell out the money for this. Buying it now means I’m just ready to roll once the bathing suits come out!

sunscreen

Bunny Socks: Kids always need socks! I don’t know what the heck my kids do with their socks, but one day we have a stock pile the next day we have 2 and a half pairs left. Plus, you can find these in most dollar stores, or the Target dollar section.

easter socks.jpg

Bubble Wands: What kid doesn’t love bubbles? They can use them any where at any time. No waiting for the sun to come out, or the weather to warm up! Just open and enjoy!

Leggings: A little something to add into the wardrobe is perfect! Seems like a gift, but it’s really something they are going to wear over and over and over again!

Candy: We really limit the amount of candy we put into our baskets. Not because we are super strict about dyes and sugar, but because we are lucky to have so many generous friends and family who give our kids treats. We also participate in a couple of egg hunts which means we come home with plenty of candy.

Stuffed Lovies:  Beanie Boos to be exact. My kids have so many stuffed animals already we could have seriously opened our own stuffed lovey adoption agency. But, they can’t help falling in love with every Beanie Boo they make eye contact with.

Umbrellas: (Obviously) it’s a gift holding the gifts. I don’t even have to go into storage to find baskets!! Everything will be put away in its own place and I won’t have to worry about tons of little tiny plastic things scattered on the floor and ultimately end up in the garbage.

That’s it. That’s all they get this year. I’m not even including decorative grass because I don’t like the mess it makes! No jelly beans. No peanut butter cups. No excessive amounts of candy that I’ll end up eating or that they can beg me for a million times a day. For the record, our grand total this year is $88/$44 for each kid.That’s $100 less per child than the average per person cost!

I love the less is more approach to our Easter baskets. I feel like if we present things the kids already need like clothes and shoes, paired with a few wants like bubbles and chalk in a unique way, they feel like they got enough “stuff” to celebrate the holiday. And, I feel like I gave enough without compromising my wallet or my values.

What kind of fun things do you include in your child’s Easter basket?

The Whatever Mom is a full-time wife and twin mama living on coffee and wine. She enjoys the pure rush of cleaning the BIG potty between loads of laundry. It is her dream that moms everywhere accept and embrace the Whatever Mom philosophy which can be found here.

Related posts: Funny Bunny Photo Booth Glow In The Dark Easter Eggs Egg-less Easter Funn

 

